Conquering the Career Fair as a freshman

On February 9th, I went to the JHU Career Center’s Spring 2012 Career Fair.  I didn’t know what to expect considering I didn’t go to the career fair in the Fall.  I had planned out which employers I wanted to see before I got there, so at least I didn’t go in blind.  I wanted to see about four employers.  But four employers soon turn into about ten employers!

The first organization I went to was ESPN. I thought that would be a great place to get an internship because they were looking for computer scientists, like myself.  It would be great if I could merge my career and my love of sports together.  But when I got the booth, I introduced myself and said that I was a freshman looking for a summer internship.  At that second I was turned away because they were looking for juniors their internship.  I was a little discouraged, but I knew that there were many other people to talk to.

I approached some social media and cell phone app companies.  All of whom took my name and resume. I made sure to talk to the National Security Agency (NSA) because that is ultimately where I want to work. I told them how I applied for a scholarship this year and last year with the NSA. They encouraged me to go on their website and to apply for any available internships through their.  Almost all of the companies that I talked to told me to go on their website to apply for and internships that I was interested in.

After that, I got business cards from many different companies that were looking for computer scientists.  The first thing I did when I got back to my dorm was to email all the employers that asked me to email them. I included my resume and briefly said what I was looking for in an internship.

I definitely learned from my career fair experience, like that I should improve my “elevator pitch” in order to try to sell myself to these companies.  First impressions of a person will never change and you definitely want it to be a good one!

Many of the employers from the career fair have their business cards available at the Career Center if you wanted to get in contact with anyone.

One response to “Conquering the Career Fair as a freshman

  1. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I am going to forward this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a
    very good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

