Introducing: Nick

My name is Nick, and I'm a sophomore here at Johns Hopkins who is majoring in Computer Science and Economics.

Hello everyone!

My name is Nick, and I’m a sophomore here at Johns Hopkins who is majoring in Computer Science and Economics. I’m not sure yet what I want to do with my life career-wise (although being on the cover of Forbes would be nice) so for now I’m trying to get a taste of several aspects of both the technology and finance worlds. Hopefully, with some help from the Career Center, I’ll be able to pinpoint what I want to do by the time graduation comes in 2014.

I truly believe that it is near impossible — at least for me — to know at this point what I want to do. Some people grow up knowing they want to be a doctor or a lawyer, but I’ve never really felt that there was a specific occupation that I felt particularly drawn to. Sure, technology has always been my thing, but that’s not an ‘occupation’ per se.

People often ask “where do you see yourself in 10 years?” To them, I say, think about what life was like 10 years ago. No Facebook, no iPhones, hybrid cars were a novelty. As a 4th grader, I didn’t even know what Johns Hopkins was, let alone that I’d be spending my collegiate career there. So don’t make assumptions on things so far in the future, take life as it comes, and don’t feel tied down to what you think you want to do now.  That being said, here are a few of my previous work experiences and how they have helped me arrive to where I am today.

Last summer, I had the fortune of working at a summer camp in Starlight, Pennsylvania (aka the middle of absolutely nowhere). While there, I had two main responsibilities. First was to manage a dorm of 20 teenagers, which was a daunting task in and of itself.  My other responsibility was to serve as “media coordinator,” where my computer skills really had a chance to come in handy.  This role involved writing blogs for parents, taking pictures, making videos and teaching classes on social media and web design. It was my first real job, one which I had gotten from being known from my days as a camper there, but was a good first experience in the employment world.

My next work endeavor came through the Johns Hopkins Office of Undergraduate Admissions, where I started working at the beginning of this year.  At the admissions office, I help maintain our blogging website (www.hopkins-interactive.com), as well as assist in other miscellaneous tasks. Working here has been my first experience in a ‘desk’ job, where unlike at camp, most of my job is done in front of a computer in an office.

And that’s pretty much my work experience up to today. A few months ago, the question of what I was going to do this summer began to pop up, which is when I started to get involved in coming to the Career Center and really started to think about how to land an internship somewhere outside of what I had experienced before.  That, however, is a topic for another time and will surely be covered indepth in my next blog post, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

